Mobile Triggers

Peer Support

Peer Support is a mentor program developed for 7th and 8th grade students, started in 1984 at Sacred Heart. The foundation of this mentor program is built on findings of developmental research demonstrating that adolescents listen, relate, respond, and learn best from their peers. 

Each year a group of junior and senior applicants, who exhibit exceptional leadership skills and a natural inclination to help others, are selected to act as peer mentors to the seventh and eighth grade students. Peer support leaders receive training in professional counseling skills from local clinical psychologists and therapists, in addition to receiving continuous supervision and instruction by the Upper and Middle School counselors.

The students and their Peer Support leaders meet together once or twice a month for activities and conversation. 

Peer support group meeting
Need help with Counseling?
Questions about Learning Specialist?
Let's talk.

Molly Sanders (Gr. 5-8)
Director of Counseling & Middle School Counselor
msanders@ashrosary.org

Janice Foulks (Age 1-Grade 4)
Mater Campus Counselor
jfoulks@ashrosary.org

Kayla Allain (Gr. 9-12)
Upper School Counselor
kallain@ashrosary.org

Allie Timberlake (Gr. 9-12)
College Counselor
atimberlake@ashrosary.org

Stacy Crane (PK-Gr. 4)
Lower School Learning Specialist
scrane@ashrosary.org

Kristen Bendich (Gr 5-8)
Middle School Learning Specialist
kbendich@ashrosary.org

Allison Suhren (Gr. 9-12)
Upper School Learning Specialist
asuhren@ashrosary.org

Mindy Louviere, School Nurse
mlouviere@ashrosary.org