Mobile Triggers

All ASH News & Blogs

Fifteen Students Inducted into National Honor Society
NHS 2021 inductees

Fifteen members of the Class of 2022 were inducted into the Academy of the Sacred Heart chapter of the National Honor Society on February 25, 2021. The National Honor Society was establishment in 1921 to recognize high school students who demonstrate excellence in the qualities of scholarship, leadership, service and character. 

NHS ceremony 2021

Due to social distance guidelines during COVID-19, this year’s induction ceremony took place in a hybrid format. NHS officers and inductees gathered in the Rosary Chapel, with NHS members and the parents of this year’s inductees joining via livestream. The ceremony opened with an introduction by NHS President senior Caroline Evans, a prayer by Olivia McGoey and a series of reflections led by the following NHS officers: Charlotte Galloway spoke on Character; Katie Paige Gardes spoke on Service, Isabel Evans spoke on Leadership; and Sarah Dowd reflected on Scholarship. 

After these comments, the 2020 inductees were introduced and came forward to receive pins and certificates from Sr. Guste, Upper School Division Head Julie Boyd and National Honor Society Moderator Ricky Bordelon. After inductees recited the National Honor Society Pledge, guest speaker Margaret Prat Huntwork, Class of 2001 addressed the gathering.

margaret huntwork NHS speaker

Margaret is currently on the faculty at Tulane School of Medicine, practicing Allergy and Immunology, and teaching medical students, residents, and fellows. 

In her address, Margaret shared stories of five Sacred Heart alumna who serve as interesting and inspiring examples of the NHS pillars, as well as Sacred Heart Goals Two through Five. All of them are women who are truly making important change in the world, through vastly different career paths, passions and gifts; ranging from the world of art, science, engineering, medicine and foster parenting. Their compelling stories inspire all of us to seek a path through the NHS pillars and Sacred Heart goals, knowing that each of us have the ability to change the world. 

A recording of the ceremony can be found here.

2020 National Honor Society Inductees:
Lillian Balart
Devron Barreca
Lyden Bland
Olivia Boyd
Juliette Camenzuli
Veronica Camenzuli
Anna Grace Dreiling
Ashley Ellis
Olivia Finch
Grace Gootee
Madeline Kessels
Claire Knecht
Sloane Paysse
Helen Claire Thompson
Katherine Wise

National Honor Society Members:
Elizabeth Brooks
Grace Evans
Isabel Evans
Katie Paige Gardes
Julia Gelé
Madison Hales
Maggie Hunter
Emily Leblanc
Audrey Lemann
Elizabeth Maniscalco
May Manning
Madison Maureau
Adriana Mehaffie
Bella Mendez
Lilly Moreau
Mary Rose Neumeyer
Hadley Pinkerton
Gabby Thibodaux
Elise Vickery 

National Honor Society Officers:
President: Caroline Evans
Vice President: Olivia McGoey
Secretary: Charlotte Galloway
Historian: Sarah Dowd
Parliamentarian: Isabel Rees

NHS officers 2021




Recent Posts

senior spotlight generic

The Class of 2021 has achieved many great accomplishments during their years at Sacred Heart. To celebrate our recent graduates, we're spotlighting just a few members of the Class of 2021 who exemplify each of the five Goals and Criteria of Sacred Heart education.

Read More > about Senior Spotlights 2021