A Catholic, independent, college-prep school for girls, ages 1 – 12th grade.
Twenty students inducted into National Honor Society
Posted 02/09/2017 10:22AM

Twenty juniors and seniors were inducted into the Academy of the Sacred Heart chapter of the National Honor Society on February 9. Since its establishment in 1921, the National Honor Society has recognized high school students who demonstrate excellence in the qualities of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. These characteristics serve as the criteria for selection as well as the newly inducted member's responsibility to uphold. With this honor, members recognize the importance of community service both in and out of school.

After inductees received pins and certificates from Headmistress Sr. Melanie Guste, RSCJ, and Upper School Division Head Julie Boyd, they recited the National Honor Society Pledge. Senior Elizabeth Schmidt then introduced guest speaker, Shelley Sullivan Tynan '94, who exhibits the NHS qualities of scholarship, leadership, service and character.

Shelley is the Vice President of Professional Staff Services and Employment Counsel for Ochsner Health System. She has been with Ochsner since 2006. In her role, she serves as Employment Counsel for the System, and she is the Human Resources leader for all employed physicians and advanced practice providers at Ochsner. She also oversees the credentialing function for Ochsner Clinic Foundation. Before working at Ochsner, Shelley was employed in the Labor & Employment Section of Jones Walker in New Orleans. Prior to that, Shelley was a Federal Judicial Law Clerk to the Honorable Edith Brown Clement first in the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana and then in the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

Shelley is a 1994 graduate of the Sacred Heart. Shelley attended the University of Notre Dame where she graduated cum laude with a Bachelor of Arts in Government/International Relations and a concentration in the Hesburgh Program in Public Service. Shelley attended law school at the Paul M. Hebert School of Law at LSU where she graduated Order of the Coif.

Following the induction ceremony, Shelley joined NHS members and their families for a reception in the parlor to celebrate the inductees.

2017 NHS Inductees:

Chloe Bianchini
Sophie Capella
Helen Charbonnet
Alexandra Chimento
Lily Conroy
Taylor Cummings
Lucy Galloway
Aysha Gibson
Gail Hodges Grady
Anna Catherine Guillot
Lauren Haefele
Marcelle Holmes
Asia Jackson
Kathleen Kelly
Stirling Kennedy
Isabelle McGoey
Elise Miller
Claire Moreau
Celina Morrison

NHS Membership:

Maddie Burk
Madeline Cook
Catherine Crocker
Grace Gerig
Virginia Hammet
Caroline Kavanaugh
Brenna Macnamara
Kyle Maher
Hunter Major
Kathryn Payne
Elizabeth Schmidt
Destiny Stafford
Isabel Yarborough

Rosary Campus
4521 St. Charles Avenue New Orleans LA 70115
(504) 891-1943 | Fax (504) 891-9939
Mater Campus
4301 St. Charles Avenue New Orleans LA 70115
(504) 269-1230 | Fax (504) 896-7899
powered by finalsite