A Catholic, independent, college-prep school for girls, ages 1 – 12th grade.
Thirteen students inducted into National Honor Society
Posted 02/07/2018 12:23PM

Thirteen juniors and seniors were inducted into the Academy of the Sacred Heart chapter of the National Honor Society on February 6. Since its establishment in 1921, the National Honor Society has recognized high school students who demonstrate excellence in the qualities of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. These characteristics serve as the criteria for selection as well as the newly inducted member's responsibility to uphold. With this honor, members recognize the importance of community service both in and out of school.

The ceremony opened with National Honor Society members sharing their reflections on the meaning of the four qualities of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. 2018 inductees were then introduced and received pins and certificates from Julie Boyd, Upper School Division Head, and Carol Ann Chatelain, National Honor Society Moderator. After inductees recited the National Honor Society Pledge, senior Isabelle McGoey introduced alumna guest speaker, Taylor Morgan '01.

Taylor is the Editor of The Scout Guide New Orleans, a publication dedicated to living like an insider in New Orleans. As Editor, Taylor promotes New Orleans’ leading small business owners, artists, and tastemakers with her artful print publication, online content, and local events. The Scout Guide is a network of city guides in more than 60 locations throughout the country.

Taylor is a fourth generation Sacred Heart alum and attended Sacred Heart from the age of three to eighteen, graduating in 2001. After Sacred Heart, she went to the University of the South in Sewanee, TN, where she majored in American History. She had a passion for history and politics, which inspired her to move to Washington, D.C., after college. When she arrived in D.C., she landed her dream job of working at the White House. She eventually returned home to New Orleans and worked for the New Orleans Saints and then in the film industry before bringing The Scout Guide to New Orleans.

Following the induction ceremony, Taylor joined NHS members and their families for a reception in the parlor to celebrate the inductees.

2018 National Honor Society Inductees:

Elizabeth Coman
Zoe Faulkner
Eva Fenasci
Amelia Huddell
Madeline Kling
Alyssa Langlois
Isabella Mannino
Emma McFadden
Gigi McLeod
Gabriella Mehaffie
Ali Redmann
Kate Roemershauser
Grace Vanderbrook

National Honor Society Membership:

Chloe Bianchini
Sophie Capella
Helen Charbonnet
Alexandra Chimento
Lily Conroy
Taylor Cummings
Lucy Galloway
Aysha Gibson
Gail Hodges Grady
Anna Catherine Guillot
Lauren Haefele
Marcelle Holmes
Asia Jackson
Kathleen Kelly
Stirling Kennedy
Emma Lunn
Isabelle McGoey
Claire Moreau

Rosary Campus
4521 St. Charles Avenue New Orleans LA 70115
(504) 891-1943 | Fax (504) 891-9939
Mater Campus
4301 St. Charles Avenue New Orleans LA 70115
(504) 269-1230 | Fax (504) 896-7899
powered by finalsite